art storage

contemporary art

Irene Perez

with one comment

.

Irene Perez

My work is the product of combining preconceived ideas and materials through the use of a variety of creative processes. The resulting imagery and materiality takes many forms – objects, works on paper, fiber pieces, and installations, each one adapting to both content and concept.

Being an artist is a combination of being a thinker and an explorer. I am intrigued by the world as a physical space and as an experiential place. I make art to explore, analyze, and ultimately reconstruct and understand the world. Place, perception, cultural identity, and language are some of the ideas at the core of my artistic investigations. I am not looking for an ultimate truth about the world, rather, through art making, I am hoping to shine light on new perspectives to appreciate and be captivated by it. I find beauty in things like an ice cube melting and I ponder about space and memory. Through my work I explore these notions of inherent beauty and human existence.

When something interests me – be it an idea, a place, and/or a material, I observe it, deconstruct it, try to comprehend it both intellectually and formally, and finally I create an artwork that presents itself subtly as the result of such process. Most of my work contains an element of minimalism, simplicity, and attention to detail, which is not only an aesthetic choice, but also a strategy to persuade the acute viewer into further examining the work.

In the last two years I have been concentrating in creating works that examine the idea of landscape as a structure through form, color and materials (Topographic Landscapes), other works that investigate ideas about immigration and cultural identity (Home (a history) and Ideal Homeland), and works that have been produced as an outcome from the search for solutions to improve and preserve the environment as it relates to consumption (Bread and Topographic Piles.)

Check out more on Irene Perez: http://ireneperez.net/

Written by admin

January 21, 2010 at 10:39 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. interesting work

    kseverny

    January 21, 2010 at 11:12 am


Leave a Reply

